In line with the address of President Rodrigo Roa Duterte on 12 March 2020, in consultation with the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases, the Philippines will be implementing a series of precautionary measures to mitigate the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) in the country:

  • The Philippines has raised the Code Alert System for COVID-19 in the country to Code Red Sublevel 2;
  • Implementation of Stringent Social Distancing Measures in the National Capital Region (NCR) for thirty (30) days. These measures include:
    • Suspension of classes in all levels in Metro Manila until 12 April 2020. All students are expected to remain in their respective homes for the entire duration of the class suspension;
    • Community-wide quarantine for the entire Metro Manila;
    • Suspension of land, domestic air, and sea travel to and from Metro Manila from 15 March 2020 to 14 April 2020.
  • Expanded travel ban for countries with localised COVID-19 transmissions, except for Filipino citizens and their dependents (foreign spouse and children), bearers of permanent resident visas, and diplomatic visas issued by the Philippine Government.

The Embassy will continue to post updates and advisories as the issue develops.

View the President's address here.